fbpx
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022

Le cours – Le don des tulipes

L’histoire de la tulipe :

À l’origine, la tulipe poussait à l’état sauvage dans la chaîne de montagnes de l’Himalaya. Les tulipes poussent le mieux avec des printemps frais, des étés secs et des hivers rigoureux, ce qui est un climat de montagne. Elles recouvraient les flancs des montagnes et remplissaient le paysage de couleurs. Ces fleurs ont fini par attirer l’attention des peuples nomades turcs. Les Turcs ont été les premiers à collecter et à élever ces fleurs en captivité. 

Ils étaient si fiers de leur fleur que les Turcs envoient des bulbes de tulipe en cadeau aux souverains et ambassadeurs d’Europe occidentale. L’Europe est tombée amoureuse de la tulipe, en particulier les Pays-Bas! Les Hollandais ont développé une obsession particulière pour la tulipe. Cette obsession a pris une telle ampleur qu’elle a eu un nom : la « tulipomanie ». 

La tulipe n’a peut-être jamais retrouvé la popularité qu’elle avait aux Pays-Bas au XVIIe siècle, mais la folie a fait en sorte que la tulipe soit rapidement connue dans le monde entier et devient la fleur préférée de plusieurs. La tulipe est aujourd’hui une fleur magnifique et populaire cultivée dans le monde entier.

Origine du don de tulipes :

En mai 1940, la Seconde Guerre mondiale vient de commencer. L’Europe est plongée dans le chaos et l’Allemagne nazie commence son invasion des Pays-Bas.

La famille royale néerlandaise qui vivait aux Pays-Bas savait qu’elle ne serait pas en sécurité dans son pays d’origine, elle a donc dû s’échapper.

Ils sont venus au Canada, où ils espéraient vivre en sécurité pendant toute la durée de la guerre. Au Canada, ils ont trouvé cette sécurité, et ils ont aussi trouvé des amis. Les Canadiens ont accueilli la famille royale à bras ouverts. 

Puis en 1943, alors qu’ils vivent encore au Canada, les Royaux néerlandais accueillent leur troisième enfant. Elle s’appelle la princesse Margriet et naît à l’hôpital Civic d’Ottawa. Sa naissance au Canada renforce les liens entre les Pays-Bas et le Canada. 

Finalement, à la fin de la guerre, la famille royale a pu retourner dans son pays. À l’automne 1945, après leur retour au pays, ils ont envoyé 100 000 tulipes à Ottawa en guise de remerciement aux Canadiens pour tout ce qu’ils avaient fait. Ce don généreux de milliers de bulbes de tulipes a été répété chaque année depuis lors et a conduit à la création du Festival canadien des tulipes en 1953. Le Festival canadien des tulipes a lieu chaque printemps et, grâce à la tulipe, continue de célébrer l’amitié durable entre le Canada et les Pays-Bas. 

Cycle de vie :

Le cycle de vie d’une tulipe comporte sept phases :

1. Plantez le bulbe dans le sol

2. Les racines commencent à sortir de la base du bulbe de tulipe

3. Le bulbe se repose jusqu’à ce que le temps soit suffisamment chaud pour qu’il recommence à pousser

4. Lorsque la température est d’au moins 5°C, la tige commence à pousser au sommet du bulbe

5. Au printemps, la tige sort du sol et donne naissance à une belle fleur

6. En été, la fleur et les pétales tombent, ne laissant que les feuilles de la tulipe

7. Les feuilles se décomposent et le bulbe dans le sol peut maintenant devenir de nombreux bulbes prêts à pousser l’année suivante

Comment planter :

Vous avez vos bulbes de tulipes et vous êtes prêt à commencer à planter. Cependant, tous les endroits du jardin ne sont pas les mêmes. Assurez-vous de choisir un endroit qui rendra votre tulipe heureuse. En général, les tulipes poussent mieux en plein soleil ou dans l’après-midi, avec juste un peu d’ombre. Elles aiment un sol sain et bien drainé. Aucune tulipe ne veut trop d’eau. Un abri contre les éléments peut également être utile. Un mur de bâtiment ou des plantes plus hautes à proximité peuvent protéger les tulipes des vents et des tempêtes.

Une fois que vous avez choisi l’endroit idéal pour vos tulipes, il est temps de les mettre en terre! Creusez un trou de 6 à 8 pouces de profondeur pour votre bulbe, ce qui le protégera et lui donnera de la place pour grandir. Une bonne règle à retenir est que plus le bulbe est gros, plus le trou doit être profond. Si vous avez plusieurs bulbes, espacer les trous de 4 à 6 pouces. Cela permettra aux tulipes de ne pas s’entasser les unes sur les autres. Placez le bulbe de tulipe dans le trou, l’extrémité pointue vers le haut. Recouvrez le bulbe de terre et appuyez dessus. Une fois que le ou les bulbes sont bien enfoncés dans le sol, arrosez bien toute la zone. 

Maintenant, vous attendez. Vos tulipes resteront à l’abri sous la neige tout l’hiver et sortiront en fleur au début ou au milieu du printemps! 

Vidéo : Amsterdam’s Tulip Museum – An Animated History of the Tulip (En anglais)

From Holland.com’s history lesson to this delightful Animated History of the Tulip, created for Amsterdam’s Tulip Museum by filmmaker Stepahne Kaas, learn about this seasonal yet timeless symbol of The Netherlands.

Link: https://thekidshouldseethis.com/post/52326126202

Vidéo : Le petit bulbe

Link: 

Fiche de cours : Planter les tulipes

Fiche de cours : Page à colorier

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est produit en partenariat avec
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.

fbpx
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

The Lesson – The Gift of Tulips

History of the Tulip:

The Tulip originally grew wild in the Himalayan Mountain Range. Tulips grow best with cool springs, dry summers and harsh winters, definitely mountain weather. They would cover the mountainsides and fill the landscape with colour. Eventually, these flowers drew the attention of the nomadic Turkish people. The Turks were the first to collect and breed these flowers in captivity. 

They were so proud of their flower that the Turks would send tulip bulbs to Western European rulers and ambassadors as gifts. Europe fell in love with the tulip, especially the Netherlands! The Dutch developed a particular obsession with the tulip. This obsession became so big it actually had a name – “Tulipmania”. 

The tulip may never have gotten back the same popularity it had in the 17th century Netherlands, but the craze made sure the tulip quickly became known worldwide and a favourite flower for many.

The tulip is now a beautiful, popular flower grown all over the world. 

Origin of the Gift of Tulips:

In May 1940, the Second World War had just begun. Europe was thrown into chaos and Nazi Germany began its invasion of the Netherlands.

The Dutch Royal family who lived in the Netherlands knew they wouldn’t be safe in their home country, so they had to escape.

They came to Canada, where they hoped to live in safety throughout the war. In Canada, they found that safety, and they also found friends. The Canadians welcomed the Royal Family with open arms.

Then in 1943, while they were still living in Canada, the Dutch Royals welcomed their third child. Her name was Princess Margriet and she was born in the Civic Hospital in Ottawa. Her Canadian birth strengthened the bonds between the Netherlands and Canada.

Eventually, as the war ended, the Royal Family were able to return to their country. In the fall of 1945 after arriving home, they sent 100,000 tulips to Ottawa as a symbol thanking Canadians for all they had done. A generous gift of thousands of tulip bulbs has been repeated every year since and led to the creation of the annual Canadian Tulip Festival in 1953. The Canadian Tulip Festival is held every spring and, with the help of the tulip, continues to celebrate the lasting friendship between Canada and the Netherlands. 

Life Cycle:

There are seven phases to the life cycle of a tulip:

1. Plant the bulb in the ground

2. Roots begin to sprout out of the bottom of the tulip bulb

3. The bulb rests until the weather is warm enough for it to start to grow again

4. When the weather is at least 5C the stem begins to grow out of the top of the bulb

5. In spring the stem grows up out of the ground and sprouts a beautiful blossom

6. In summer the blossom and petals fall off leaving just the tulip leaves behind

7.The leaves decompose and the bulb in the ground can now become many bulbs ready to grow the next year

How to Plant:

You’ve got your tulip bulbs and are ready to start planting. However, not all spots in the garden are the same. Make sure to choose a spot that will make your tulip happy. Usually, tulips grow best in full or afternoon sunlight with just a bit of shade. They like well-drained, healthy and soil. No tulip wants too much water. Some shelter against the elements can also be helpful. Having a building wall or some taller plants nearby can protect the tulips from winds and storms. 

Once you’ve picked your perfect tulip spot, it’s time to get them in the ground! Dig a hole for your bulb that is 6 to 8 inches deep, this will keep your tulip safe and give it room to grow. A good rule to remember is the bigger the bulb, the deeper the hole needs to be. If you have many bulbs, space the holes about 4 to 6 inches apart. This will make sure the tulips do not crowd each other. Place the tulip bulb in the hole pointy end up. Cover the bulb with soil and press it down. After the bulb(s) are snug in the ground give the whole area a good watering. 

Now, you wait. Your tulips will stay safe under the snow all winter and then pop out with a blossom in early or mid spring! 

Video: Amsterdam’s Tulip Museum – An Animated History of the Tulip

From Holland.com’s history lesson to this delightful Animated History of the Tulip, created for Amsterdam’s Tulip Museum by filmmaker Stepahne Kaas, learn about this seasonal yet timeless symbol of The Netherlands.

Link: https://thekidshouldseethis.com/post/52326126202

Video: The Little Bulb

Link: 

Worksheet: Planting Bulbs

Worksheet: Tulip Colouring Page

THE CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL IS PRODUCED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.