fbpx
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022

Léo Major – Zwolle

Certaines histoires sont presque trop incroyables pour croire qu’elles sont vraies – l’histoire de Léo Major est de celles-là. En 1940, Léo Major s’engage dans l’armée canadienne. Il pensait que cela prouverait à sa famille qu’il était “quelqu’un dont on pouvait être fier”. En fait, Léo a fait assez pour rendre son pays fier. Parmi ses nombreux actes héroïques, Léo Major a libéré une ville entière à lui tout seul! 

Le 6 juin 1944, Léo débarque en Normandie au sein du Régiment de la Chaudière et se lance dans l’aventure. Dès son arrivée, il est envoyé en mission de reconnaissance et finit par s’emparer d’un véhicule blindé nazi-allemand, en transportant des codes et du matériel de communication entièrement seul. Plus tard le même jour, au cours d’un combat avec des patrouilleurs SS, une grenade explose et rend Léo partiellement aveugle de l’œil gauche. On lui a dit que cette blessure était suffisamment grave pour qu’il puisse rentrer chez lui, mais il a refusé! Léo n’allait pas abandonner si facilement et décida de porter un cache-œil, insistant sur le fait qu’en tant que tireur d’élite, il n’avait de toute façon besoin que de son œil droit. Il avait raison!

Après de nombreuses batailles vicieuses et de nombreuses blessures, Léo Major et le Régiment de la Chaudière se retrouvent en 1945 à l’extérieur de la ville de Zwolle, aux Pays-Bas. Zwolle a une population de plus de 50 000 habitants et est étroitement contrôlée par les nazis. Lors d’une mission de reconnaissance dans la région, Léo a perdu son ami le caporal Wilfred Arsenault sous le feu de l’ennemi et c’est alors que Léo a décidé de prendre les choses en main, littéralement. Armé de deux fusils et de plusieurs grenades, Léo commence à arpenter les rues désertes de Zwolle. Il tire des coups de feu en l’air et fait exploser des grenades, créant ainsi suffisamment d’agitation pour convaincre ses ennemis qu’une force beaucoup plus importante les attaque, et sa ruse fonctionne. Les nazis allemands ont fui Zwolle dans l’obscurité de la nuit et ont laissé leurs citoyens vivre à nouveau en paix. Bien que les détails exacts de cet événement ne soient pas clairs, une chose est sûre, il s’agit d’un acte incroyablement héroïque de Léo Major et d’un acte parmi tant d’autres.

Léo Major a également été le seul Canadien, et l’un des trois seuls soldats de tout le Commonwealth britannique à recevoir la médaille de conduite distinguée deux fois dans des guerres distinctes. En mai 2020, Postes Canada a émis des timbres pour marquer le 75e anniversaire du jour de la victoire en Europe. L’un de ces timbres représente fièrement le courageux Léo Major, qui porte un cache-œil.

Léo Major

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est produit en partenariat avec
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.

fbpx
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Léo Major – Zwolle

Some stories are almost too incredible to believe are true – Léo Major’s story is one of those. 

In 1940 Léo Major joined the Canadian Army. Major felt that this would prove to his family that he ‘was someone to be proud of’. As it happened, Major would do enough to make his entire country proud. Among his many heroics, Léo Major would go on to single-handedly liberate a whole city! 

On June 6th, 1944, Major landed in Normandy as a member of the Régiment de la Chaudière and hit the ground running. Upon arrival he was sent on a reconnaissance mission. He ended up capturing a Nazi-German armoured vehicle that was carrying codes and communication equipment completely on his own. Later that same day, during a fight with SS Patrol officers, a grenade went off that partially blinded Major in his left eye. He was told this injury allowed him to go home, but he refused. He decided to wear an eyepatch, insisting that, as a sniper, he only needed his right eye. He turned out to be right.

After vicious battles and further injuries, in 1945 Léo Major and the Régiment de la Chaudière ended up outside the city of Zwolle in the Netherlands. Zwolle had a population of over 50,000 people and was tightly under Nazi-German control. During a reconnaissance mission in the area, Major lost his friend Corporal Wilfred Arsenault to enemy fire. Major then decided to take things into his own hands, literally. Armed with two guns and several grenades, Major began walking the deserted streets of Zwolle. He fired into the air and set off grenades to make enough commotion to convince the enemy that a much larger force was attacking them. His trick worked. The Germans fled Zwolle and left its citizens alone. While exact details of the event are unclear, one thing is certain, it was an incredibly heroic act by Major, one of many.

Léo Major was also the only Canadian, and one of only three soldiers in all the British Commonwealth to receive the Distinguished Conduct Medal twice in separate wars. And in May 2020, Canada post released stamps to mark the 75th anniversary of V-E Day. One of these stamps proudly features the courageous, eye-patch wearing Léo Major.

Léo Major

THE CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL IS PRODUCED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.