fbpx
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022

Anthony Law – Ostend

Anthony Law est une preuve de plus d’une chose que nous savons très bien dans ce pays: il n’est pas nécessaire d’être né au Canada pour devenir un grand Canadien. 

Anthony Law est né en Angleterre en 1916 et a déménagé au Canada avec sa famille un an plus tard. Il grandit à Québec, où il développe un talent et une passion pour l’art. Il a même la chance d’étudier sous la direction de Frank Varley, un peintre éminent, membre du Groupe des Sept.

En 1937, à l’âge de 21 ans, Anthony s’engage dans le Corps royal des magasins militaires de l’armée et en 1940, il démissionne de son poste dans l’armée et s’engage dans la Réserve volontaire de la Marine royale canadienne. Il était loin de se douter que, même dans l’armée, l’art jouerait toujours un rôle important dans sa vie. Anthony continue de peindre tout en assumant la tâche très difficile de commander un torpilleur à moteur, puis la 29e flottille canadienne de torpilleurs à moteur. Comme les soldats qui l’entouraient remarquaient ses œuvres impressionnantes, Anthony est devenu un artiste de guerre temporaire, peignant des portraits, des paysages et des documentations de ce qui se passait.

Puis, le jour de la Saint-Valentin 1945, alors qu’Anthony était ailleurs, la 29e flottille qu’il commandait a été détruite dans le port d’Ostende, en Belgique. De l’essence a été versée dans l’eau et tout le port a été incendié. Les réservoirs de carburant et les munitions ont explosé et presque tous les bateaux ont été brûlés et coulés au fond de l’océan. De nombreux civils, ainsi que 26 soldats canadiens et 35 britanniques, ont été tragiquement tués. Anthony a eu la chance de ne pas assister à cette explosion mortelle, mais il était là pour saisir les conséquences macabres de cette attaque. Après la dévastation de cette attaque, il a été nommé artiste de guerre officiel.

Tout au long de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Anthony Law a réalisé 29 grandes toiles à l’huile et 75 esquisses à l’huile qui dépeignent toutes efficacement le drame, l’horreur et le chaos des batailles et ce qu’elles laissent derrière elles. Anthony Law est mort à l’âge de 80 ans à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 15 octobre 1996, mais une grande partie de ses œuvres est toujours exposée au Musée canadien de la guerre à Ottawa.

Anthony (“Tony”) Law, Départ des torpilleurs à moteur pour une patrouille de nuit au large du Havre.

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est produit en partenariat avec
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.

fbpx
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Anthony Law – Ostend

Anthony Law is further proof of something we know – you don’t have to be born in Canada to become a truly great Canadian.

Law was born in England in 1916 and was then brought to Canada with his family a year later. Growing up in Quebec City, Law developed a talent and passion for art. He was even fortunate enough to study under Frank Varley, a member of the Group of Seven. 

In 1937, Law joined the Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps and in 1940 he resigned his commission in the Army and transferred to the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve. Little did he know that even in the military art would still play a large role in his life. He continued to paint even while maintaining the strenuous job of commanding a motor torpedo boat, and later the 29th Canadian Motor Torpedo Boat Flotilla. As soldiers around him noticed his impressive artwork he eventually became a temporary war artist.

On February 14th, 1945, while Law was away, the 29th Flotilla was destroyed in the harbour at Ostend, Belgium. Gasoline had been poured into the water and the entire harbour was set ablaze. Fuel tanks and ammunition exploded and the boats were burned and sank. Many civilians, as well as 26 Canadian and 35 British soldiers, were killed. Law was fortunate to miss the explosion, but he was there to capture the grisly aftermath. After the devastation of the attack, Law was appointed to the role of official war artist.

Throughout the Second World War, Law completed 29 large oil canvases and 75 oil sketches all effectively depicting the drama, horror and chaos of battle and the remnants of what it leaves behind. Much of Law’s artwork is still on display at the Canadian War Museum. Anthony Law passed away at the age of 80 in Halifax, Nova Scotia on October 15th, 1996.

Anthony (“Tony”) Law, Motor Torpedo Boats Leaving for Night Patrol Off Le Havre.

THE CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL IS PRODUCED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.